+27 12 349 6638 kholani@assaf.org.za

TWAS-ROSSA Regional Young Scientists’ Prize

The regional office annually administers the nomination and selection processes for the Regional Young Scientists’ Prize. The themes of the prize are preset by the regional office usually to be aligned with the African Union year theme. After the applications are received from the call, TWAS Fellows in the region are given the first preference to make the initial evaluation and pre-selection of the top ranked candidates from the information supplied.  From there, the Selection Committee appointed by TWAS-ROSSA from among the fellows who volunteer to be part of it do the final selection of the winner of the prize.

The committee’s consensus on the recommended winner is then endorsed by the TWAS Executive Director. The official awarding of the prize is done thereafter at any science event in Africa. The Regional Prize consists of a certificate and prize money.

Recipients of TWAS-ROSSA Regional Prizes for Young Scientists

  • 2016: Alice Wamundiya, Rwanda
  • 2015: Aletta E Schutte, South Africa
  • 2014: Denis Zofou, Cameroon
  • 2013: Alvaro M. Viljoen, South Africa
  • 2012: Emmanuel Iyayi Unuabonah, Nigeria
  • 2011: Jonathan Steed Terblanche, South Africa
  • 2010: Harriet Mpairwe, Uganda

Click the link to find out more: http://twas.org/article/winners-2015-twas-prizes-announced

Latest News

Twitter Feed