+27 12 349 6638 twasrossa@assaf.org.za


TWAS has long recognized that prizes and awards provide an incentive for scientists to do their best work, while winning global recognition. Today, honours awarded by TWAS and its partners are among the most prestigious given for research in the developing world. They range from the TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize, which celebrates the very best research in the South, to prizes awarded to early-career scientists already making impressive contributions to their field.

The 67th Lindau Nobel Laureates Meeting 2017_Call For Nominations

The Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), in partnership with the Department of Science and Technology (DST), is seeking candidates to participate in the 2017 Lindau Nobel Laureates Meeting to be held from 25 to 30 June 2017 in Lindau, Germany. The 67th Meeting of Nobel Laureates will be dedicated to Chemistry. The meeting will be attended by Chemistry Nobel Laureates and about 400 highly-talented young scientists from across the world.

Read more ...

TWAS Visiting Expert Programme: Deadline 1 October 2016

The TWAS Visiting Expert Programme supports visits of internationally renowned scientists to institutions located in developing countries, especially those located in the Least Developed Countries (LDCs).

Read more ...

TWAS Research and Advanced Training Fellowship: 2016 Call for Applications

TWAS, the academy of sciences for the developing world, www.twas.org, is now accepting applications for the TWAS Research and Advanced Training Fellowship programme. The fellowships are offered to scientists from developing countries and are tenable at centres of excellence in various developing countries.

Read more ...

Elsevier Foundation-TWAS Sustainability Visiting Expert Programme

The Elsevier Foundation - TWAS Sustainability Visiting Expert Programme supports visits of distinguished scientists in sustainability to institutions in developing countries, especially those in the 48 Least Developed Countries (LDCs). The programme aims to provide institutions and research groups in developing countries, especially those with limited outside contacts with the opportunity to establish long-term links with world leaders in sustainability and further build capacity in their countries.

Read more ...

Call for Nominations: TWAS Regional Prize- Building Scientific Institutions

The World Academy of Sciences Regional Office for sub-Saharan Africa (TWAS-ROSSA) seeks to honour an outstanding scientist who has played key roles in the establishment of lively scientific institutions and also who has significantly expanded the activities of established institution(s) in the developing world. The prize is awarded in fulfilment of the TWAS objective of recognising, supporting and promoting scientific capacity and excellence in the developing world. The award comprises an award certificate with a citation on the winner’s scientific achievement, as well as a cash prize of 3000 USD. The winner will be announced at the annual TWAS General Assembly and Conference which will be held from 12–17 November 2016 in Kigali, Rwanda. The prize will be awarded formally by TWAS-ROSSA at a suitable event thereafter.

Read more ...

Latest News

Twitter Feed