+27 12 349 6638 twasrossa@assaf.org.za


TWAS has long recognized that prizes and awards provide an incentive for scientists to do their best work, while winning global recognition. Today, honours awarded by TWAS and its partners are among the most prestigious given for research in the developing world. They range from the TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize, which celebrates the very best research in the South, to prizes awarded to early-career scientists already making impressive contributions to their field.

TWAS-DFG Cooperation Visits Programme- 31 March 2017

The TWAS-DFG Cooperation Visits Programme provides postdoctoral researchers from sub-Saharan Africa, including South Africa, with the opportunity to make a ‘Cooperation Visit’ to an institute in Germany of no more than 3 months. Under this programme, researchers are assisted in making a ‘Cooperation Visit’ to an institute in Germany. Such visits will have a duration of no more than three (3) months and must be undertaken within 12 months of the award.

Read more ...

TWAS-UNESCO Associateship Scheme: 2016 call for applications.

The TWAS-UNESCO Associateship Scheme enables competent researchers from the developing countries to visit participating centres of excellence in the South for research collaboration. An associate is appointed for three years during which s/he can visit a selected centre twice for 2-3 months each time. Almost 300 centres participate in the scheme.

Read more ...

AU-TWAS National Award for Young Scientists in South Africa, 2016: Life & Earth Sciences and Basic Sciences, Technology and Innovation

The African Union (AU) Assembly of heads of States and Government declared 2007 as the launching year for building constituencies and champions for science, technology and innovation in Africa, and called for increased international scientific cooperation. Further to the recommendation of the African Ministerial Committee on Science and Technology (AMCOST), the AU is collaborating with The World Academy of Sciences (formerly known as the Third World Academy of Science (TWAS)) on the awarding of prizes to young scientists with a view to promoting science in Africa. The Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), supported by the Department of Science and Technology (DST), will be coordinating the awarding of the 2016 AU-TWAS Prizes for Young Scientists in South Africa.

Read more ...

EXTENDED DEADLINE: Call for Nominations_TWAS-ROSSA Regional Young Scientists' Prize 2016: Protection & Promotion of Human Rights_ 14 OCTOBER 2016

The World Academy of Sciences Regional Office for sub-Saharan Africa (TWAS-ROSSA) seeks to honour an outstanding young scientist who has made a major contribution to the advancement of human rights issues in sub-Saharan Africa through research and direct community interventions. 

Read more ...

The 67th Lindau Nobel Laureates Meeting 2017_Call For Nominations

The Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), in partnership with the Department of Science and Technology (DST), is seeking candidates to participate in the 2017 Lindau Nobel Laureates Meeting to be held from 25 to 30 June 2017 in Lindau, Germany. The 67th Meeting of Nobel Laureates will be dedicated to Chemistry. The meeting will be attended by Chemistry Nobel Laureates and about 400 highly-talented young scientists from across the world.

Read more ...

Latest News

Twitter Feed