+27 12 349 6638 twasrossa@assaf.org.za

TWAS-ROSSA Prizes: Regional Young Scientist Prize and Regional Prize

The Regional Office disseminated two calls for nominations for the Regional Prize and the Regional Young Scientists’ Prize in 2015. Nominations for the two prizes were circulated to TWAS Fellows in sub-Saharan Africa to select their top candidate. The top ranked candidates’ application documents were forwarded to the Selection Committee appointed by TWAS-ROSSA for finalisation.

The Regional Young Scientist prize was aimed at awarding an outstanding young scientist from sub- Saharan Africa who has contributed to the development, mentoring and training of postgraduate students in various disciplines in addressing the challenges that Africa is facing, for example, the promotion of Science, Technology & Innovation (STI), participating in projects aimed at addressing issues pertaining to health, poverty and Women’s leadership. The prize of 3000 USD was awarded to Prof Alta Schutte. Seven nominations were received. The Regional Prize was 3000 USD which was awarded to Prof Jan Smit. Prof Smit’s name was officially announced at the TWAS Meeting in Vienna as the prize winner for 2015.

The two prize winners were endorsed by the TWAS Executive Director, Prof Romain Murenzi. These prizes were formally awarded on 9 December 2015 during the Science Forum South Africa event hosted by the DST at the Council for Science and Indus-trial Research (CSIR) International Convention Centre (ICC). The prizes were presented by Minister Naledi Pandor and Prof Romain Murenzi, as part of the Science Diplomacy Awards.

These prizes are open for young and senior scientists from sub-Saharan Africa who are excelling in their specialised fields. The regional office would like to encourage scientists to regularly visit the TWAS website, (www.twas.org) for opportunities.

Latest News

Twitter Feed