+27 12 349 6638 kholani@assaf.org.za

TWAS Regional Award 2020: Building Scientific Institutions_31 July 2020

The World Academy of Sciences Sub-Saharan Africa Regional Partner (TWAS-SAREP) invites you and your institution to nominate suitable candidates from your country for the 2020 TWAS Regional Award.  TWAS-SAREP seeks to honour an outstanding scientist/candidate who has played key roles in the establishment of lively scientific institutions and also who has significantly expanded the activities of established institution(s) in the developing world. The award is awarded in fulfilment of the TWAS objective of recognising, supporting and promoting scientific capacity and excellence in the developing world. The deadline for nominations has been extended to 31 July 2020.

The Award

The award comprises a certificate with a citation of the winner’s scientific achievement, as well as a cash award of 3000 USD. The winner will be formally announced at relevant event organised by the regional partner.


  • Nominees must be nationals of countries in sub-Saharan Africa.
  • Nominees must at least have a PhD.
  • Nominees must have made significant contributions to the establishment of lively scientific institutions and expansion of the activities of established institution(s) in the developing countries.
  • Nominees must be candidates who have been working and living in a developing country in sub-Saharan Africa for at least ten years.


  • Nominations are invited from TWAS Fellows, AAS Fellows, Fellow/Members of National Academies and Young Academies of science in the region, research institutions, research councils and universities in the region.
  • The nomination of women and scientists from Least Developed Countries (LDCs) and Science & Technology Lagging Countries (STLCs) is highly encouraged.

Please complete the nomination form electronically, save it in the format SURNAME_Initial.doc (e.g SMITH_D.doc if the candidate's name is David SMITH), and send it to TWAS-SAREP secretariat hosted by the Academy of Science of South Africa at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by 15 July 2020. Late submissions and incomplete nominations will not be accepted.

Latest News

Twitter Feed