+27 12 349 6638 kholani@assaf.org.za


TWAS has long recognized that prizes and awards provide an incentive for scientists to do their best work, while winning global recognition. Today, honours awarded by TWAS and its partners are among the most prestigious given for research in the developing world. They range from the TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize, which celebrates the very best research in the South, to prizes awarded to early-career scientists already making impressive contributions to their field.

TWAS 2017 Prizes and 2017 TWAS-Siwei Cheng Prize in Economic Sciences: Closing 31 March 2017

The TWAS 2017 Prizes will be awarded to in recognition of an outstanding contribution to knowledge in the following nine fields of science:  Agricultural Sciences; Biology;  Chemistry;  Earth, Astronomy and Space Sciences; Engineering Sciences; Mathematics;  Medical Sciences; Physics and Social Sciences (excluding Economic Sciences). The newly established TWAS-Siwei Cheng Prize in Economic Sciences will be awarded to an individual scientist for outstanding contribution in both understanding and addressing economic sciences.

Read more ...

BIOVISION Forum_Applications open until 24 February 2017

BIOVISION 2017 will be held, on April 4, 5 & 6, in Lyon – France and will feature the 5th edition of Catalyzer and Investor (Pitches on April 5th & 6th). Call for applications is launched: apply before 24 February 2017!
Read more ...

TWAS-DFG Cooperation Visits Programme- 31 March 2017

The TWAS-DFG Cooperation Visits Programme provides postdoctoral researchers from sub-Saharan Africa, including South Africa, with the opportunity to make a ‘Cooperation Visit’ to an institute in Germany of no more than 3 months. Under this programme, researchers are assisted in making a ‘Cooperation Visit’ to an institute in Germany. Such visits will have a duration of no more than three (3) months and must be undertaken within 12 months of the award.

Read more ...

TWAS-UNESCO Associateship Scheme: 2016 call for applications.

The TWAS-UNESCO Associateship Scheme enables competent researchers from the developing countries to visit participating centres of excellence in the South for research collaboration. An associate is appointed for three years during which s/he can visit a selected centre twice for 2-3 months each time. Almost 300 centres participate in the scheme.

Read more ...

AU-TWAS National Award for Young Scientists in South Africa, 2016: Life & Earth Sciences and Basic Sciences, Technology and Innovation

The African Union (AU) Assembly of heads of States and Government declared 2007 as the launching year for building constituencies and champions for science, technology and innovation in Africa, and called for increased international scientific cooperation. Further to the recommendation of the African Ministerial Committee on Science and Technology (AMCOST), the AU is collaborating with The World Academy of Sciences (formerly known as the Third World Academy of Science (TWAS)) on the awarding of prizes to young scientists with a view to promoting science in Africa. The Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), supported by the Department of Science and Technology (DST), will be coordinating the awarding of the 2016 AU-TWAS Prizes for Young Scientists in South Africa.

Read more ...

Latest News

Twitter Feed