+27 12 349 6638 twasrossa@assaf.org.za


TWAS has long recognized that prizes and awards provide an incentive for scientists to do their best work, while winning global recognition. Today, honours awarded by TWAS and its partners are among the most prestigious given for research in the developing world. They range from the TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize, which celebrates the very best research in the South, to prizes awarded to early-career scientists already making impressive contributions to their field.

Call for Nominations: TWAS-SAREP Regional Young Scientists’ Prize 2018- Water and Sanitation

The World Academy of Sciences Sub-Saharan Africa Regional Partner (TWAS-SAREP) seeks to honour an outstanding young scientist who has made significant contribution to research, development and capacity building to improve sustainability of water and sanitation-related activities and programmes in the developing world. This includes water harvesting, desalination, water efficiency, reducing pollution, eliminating dumping and minimising release of hazardous chemicals and materials. It can also cover protection and restoration of water-related ecosystems, wastewater treatment, recycling and reusing technologies. The prize is awarded in fulfilment of the TWAS objective of recognising, supporting and promoting scientific capacity and excellence in the developing world. The deadline is 20 August 2018

Read more ...

Call for Nominations: TWAS Regional Prize 2018- Science Diplomacy

TWAS-SAREP seeks to honour an outstanding scientist who has collaborated on trans-boundary research projects contributing to, or made possible by, good international relations in the developing world. The ideal candidate must have made significant contributions to the application of diplomacy in Science and Technology to industry or to human well-being in the developing world. Awareness creation of 'Science Diplomacy' in the research and diplomatic communities is of critical importance in Africa. Steady Intergovernmental relations contribute and can be viewed as a guarantor of successful research collaborations. This builds trust amongst diverse and various stakeholders in developing countries. The deadline is 20 August 2018

Read more ...

Call for Applications: TWAS Research and Advanced Training Fellowship

TWAS, the academy of sciences for the developing world, www.twas.org, is now accepting applications for the TWAS Research and Advanced Training Fellowship programme. The fellowships are offered to scientists from developing countries and are tenable at centres of excellence in various developing countries. The deadline is 1 October 2018.

Read more ...

Call for Nominations for the 2018 TWAS Young Affiliates: Closing on 31 May 2018

The World Academy of Sciences Regional Office for sub-Saharan Africa (TWAS-ROSSA) invites you to nominate suitable candidates for the 2018 TWAS Young Affiliates. The honour is given to researchers from developing nations who have at least 10 international publications. The nominees should show potential for a high-impact career. During their five-year tenure, Young Affiliates build networks with other affiliates and with elected TWAS Fellows. They also attend international conferences such as the TWAS General Meeting where they make contributions and are exposed to mentoring as well as collaboration opportunities. The five selected TWAS Young Affiliates will also be part of and work closely with the TWAS Young Affiliates Network (TYAN) which was established in 2016 during the 27th TWAS General Meeting in Kigali, Rwanda.

Read more ...

Nominations sought_TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize and 'TWAS Prizes' 2018

The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) invites you to nominate suitable candidates for the below prizes. Moreover, you are kindly requested to further disseminate the call for nominations through your mailing lists, websites, platforms and networks, or any other means as deemed most appropriate by you.
Read more ...
Page 1 of 5

Latest News

Twitter Feed