+27 12 349 6638 kholani@assaf.org.za

AU-TWAS National Award for Young Scientists in South Africa, 2016: Life & Earth Sciences and Basic Sciences, Technology and Innovation

The African Union (AU) Assembly of heads of States and Government declared 2007 as the launching year for building constituencies and champions for science, technology and innovation in Africa, and called for increased international scientific cooperation. Further to the recommendation of the African Ministerial Committee on Science and Technology (AMCOST), the AU is collaborating with The World Academy of Sciences (formerly known as the Third World Academy of Science (TWAS)) on the awarding of prizes to young scientists with a view to promoting science in Africa. The Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), supported by the Department of Science and Technology (DST), will be coordinating the awarding of the 2016 AU-TWAS Prizes for Young Scientists in South Africa.

Candidates for the annual AU-TWAS National Awards should be under the age of 40. Two prizes worth US$2,000 each will be awarded to young scientists, one in the field of ‘Life and Earth Sciences’ and the other in ‘Basic Sciences, Technology and Innovation’.

In making its choices, the selection committee for this prestigious award will in each case take into account the level of excellence of the scientific research carried out, its perceived potential value to society, and the success of the candidate in developing students and contributing to the public understanding of science and technology.

You are invited to nominate one or more suitable candidates for the above award. The completed nomination form (attached) together with the candidate’s CV, the full list of publications and the candidate’s major achievements are to be sent as an emailed attachment to Ms Edith Shikumo at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by no later than 25 October 2016.

The prizes will be announced on 1 December 2016, African Union Day, and will be formally awarded to the successful candidates at the Science Forum South Africa from 8-9 December 2016. All enquiries for the nominations must be directed to Edith Shikumo by email to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..



Latest News

Twitter Feed